Eagle Eye Wins Best-in-State for Sixth Straight Year
Ryan Su

For the sixth year in a row, Eagle Eye staff took home the Best-in-State overall title for HBA’s journalism program at the Hawaii High School Journalism Awards.

Thirteen Hawaii high schools—six private and seven public—participated in this year’s competition, and the Eagle Eye also won Best-in-State category awards in the following categories: Photo Essay, Action/Candid Photo, Portrait Photo, Layout/Design, and Social Media.

The Best-in-State overall award is given to the school with the highest cumulative score from 19 different competition categories. Sacred Hearts Academy and Mililani High School finished second and third respectively in the overall state competition.

Senior Jarin Ashimine, who has been on the Eagle Eye team every year since his freshman year, was the photographer for both the Best-in-State Action and Portrait photographs. His action photograph captures the athleticism of senior basketball player Makua Marumoto as he goes up for a reverse layup against Hanalani during the Homecoming game. His portrait photograph depicts another airborne subject—classmate Tanner Weeks as he performs a skateboarding trick.

Sophomore Grace Glenn, new to the Eagle Eye team this year, impressed judges with her photo essay, which told the story of life on board a container ship, where her father is a captain.

This year, the Eagle Eye is led by two seniors, co-editors Kaycee Nakashima and TJ Halemano-Reed. Their collaboration on a pumpkin pie recipe article won the Eagle Eye the Best-in-State award for Layout/Design.

Unlike previous years, where the results of the competition were announced over an April luncheon for students and faculty advisors from participating schools, this year’s results were announced via email in June due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Journalism adviser Eunice Sim, who has overseen the Eagle Eye team for the past nine years, hopes this year’s students will still feel a sense of accomplishment in spite of the lack of fanfare surrounding the event. “I know the team was really disappointed when the annual luncheon was canceled, and it does feel anticlimactic since the results were only announced after the school year ended. However, when I look at all the work that the students have done this year, I feel really happy about the school year, even if it ended abruptly with a shift to online learning.”

The Hawaii High School Journalism Awards is hosted by the Hawaii Publishers Association, with support from the Honolulu Star-Advertiser and MidWeek.

2019-2020 Staff

Kaycee Nakashima (’20)
TJ Halemano-Reed (‘20)
Jarin Ashimine (’20)
Noah Camacho (‘23)
Cameron Chee (‘20)
Dilan Chock-Makiya (‘23)
Timothy Dixon (’20)
Michael Garces (‘20)
Grace Glenn (‘22)
Daniel Jurek (’21)
Johnson Lin (’21)
Brent Anthony Low (‘20)
Johanna Seng (‘21)
Lance Tasaka (’20)