Three National Merit Scholar Semifinalists
Christina Yasutomi

From left to right: Adia Ainsworth, Johanna Seng and Christine Yamamoto.

Three seniors from Hawaii Baptist Academy are semifinalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program (NMSP). They are Adia Ainsworth, Johanna Seng and Christine Yamamoto.

To participate in the program, students must take the PSAT and the National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. HBA's three semifinalists are among the 16,000 semifinalists who were chosen from the 1.5 million students who entered the program. Semifinalists have the highest scores among students in their state. 

Finalists will be announced in February. From there, winners will be chosen based on their abilities, skills and accomplishments. Finalists will compete for some 2,500 scholarships from the NMSP, as well as awards from corporate and collegiate sponsors.