Students Feted at Annual Varsity Banquet
Ryan Su

For the first time since 2019, the HBA Athletic Department was able to host its Varsity Athletic Awards Banquet in person. [The past two years, the students were recognized with a virtual awards ceremony due to COVID-19.]  

A crowd of 340 students, coaches, parents and guests gathered at the Ala Moana Hotel Hibiscus Ballroom on Saturday, May 21. The annual event recognizes all of the HBA students who participated in varsity sports during the past school year for HBA, Pac­Five or other combination teams.

The varsity banquet is one of the few opportunities during the year to bring together the students, coaches and parents from various varsity teams and sports, so it serves as a time of fellowship and closure at the end of each sports year.

This year three teams were honored for winning their respective ILH Division 2 Championship. These were girls tennis, boys tennis, and boys basketball.  Additionally, boys golf won their de facto ILH Division 1 Championship as golf is all-inclusive (all students compete together, regardless of school enrollment).  Four teams also won HHSAA Division 2 State Championships this year; boys cross country, girls cross country, girls basketball and Pac-Five girls soccer. 

The HBA Athletic Booster Club helped subsidize the event for the athletic department. KTM Services/Enjoy Products donated the centerpieces (snack mix, containers, wrap and decorations). Ala Moana Hotel also donated two sheet cakes.

In all, about 147 students were presented with certificates, letters, pins and team awards.

Pac­-Five Award winners were:

  • Rachel Harris (soccer)
  • Jarren Chiang (baseball)
  • Josiah Lum (wrestling)
  • Aerin Dias (riflery)

The special individual award winners were:

Ken & Rosemond Street Sportsmanship Awards

  • Male – Josiah Lum (wrestling, judo)
  • Female – Hayley Taka (volleyball)

Athletes of the Year

  • Male – Connor Malinger (cross country, track)
  • Female – Emi Wada (basketball, track), Jordy Davenport (cross country, track)

Robert Fulford Scholar ­Athlete Awards (Top cumulative GPA. Each winner presented with a check for $1,500)

  • Male – Connor Malinger (cross country, track)
  • Female – Kaylee Ann Tani (tennis)