Student Feted at Annual Varsity Banquet
Christina Yasutomi

Six students were recognized for their outstanding sportsmanship, academic record, and leadership at the 2019 Varsity Athletic Banquet. L-R: Kasen Wong, senior; Maxwell Wiemken, senior; Johanna Seng, sophomore; Jada Inouye, senior; Peyton Oshiro, senior; and Reanne Inafuku, senior, with Deren Oshiro '86, athletic director. Photos courtesy of Deren Oshiro. 

About 315 students, coaches, parents and guests gathered at the HBA Varsity Athletic Awards Banquet on Saturday, May 18. The annual event recognizes all of the HBA students who participated in varsity sports during the past school year for HBA, PacFive or other combination teams.

The event was held – for the second consecutive year – at the Pomaika'i Ballrooms at Dole Cannery in Iwilei.

The varsity banquet is one of the few opportunities during the year to bring together the students, coaches and parents from various varsity teams and sports, so it serves as a time of fellowship and is an uplifting way to culminate each sports year.

The HBA Athletic Booster Club helped subsidize the event for the athletic department. KTM Services/Enjoy Products donated the centerpieces (snack mix, containers, wrap and decorations).  Pomaika'i Ballrooms also donated a congratulatory sheet cake. In all, about 135 students were presented with certificates, letters, pins and team awards.

ILH Championship Teams:

  • Girls Basketball
  • Girls Bowling
  • Boys Tennis
  • Girls Tennis
  • Boys Golf

HHSAA State Championship Teams:

  • Girls Cross Country
  • Boys Cross Country
  • Girls Basketball
  • Boys Golf

Pac-Five Awards:

  • Chansen Oshiro-Sakamoto (football)
  • Mikayla Chun (softball)
  • Kasen Wong (boys soccer)
  • Connor Lopes (baseball)

Ken & Rosemond Street Sportsmanship Awards

  • Female – Jada Inouye (cross country)
  • Male – Peyton Oshiro (cross country, track & field)

Athletes of the Year

  • Female – Johanna Seng (cross country, track & field)
  • Male – Maxwell Wiemken (basketball)

Robert Fulford Scholar Athlete Awards (each winner is presented with a $1,000 scholarship to be used toward their college costs):

  • Female – Reanne Inafuku (bowling)
  • Male – Kasen Wong (soccer)