We are pleased to celebrate our school community with our Legacy Awards 2023. Since our humble beginnings in 1949, Hawaii Baptist Academy has flourished to over 4,900 graduates who are leaders in our community and beyond.

We invite you to join us in celebrating HBA's past, present and future as we honor individuals who have shaped and continue to influence the school we are today.

A portion of your donation will benefit our Fund for Excellence that meets our school's greatness needs of financial aid scholarships, program support and campus enhancements.

What has remained steadfast in our nearly 75-year story is that we bring faith and learning together so that we may join God in the formation of people and the transformation of the world. Your partnership will further support this commitment. Mahalo for your support!

One generation shall commend your works to another, and shall declare your mighty acts.

   -Psalm 145.4

2023 Legacy Award Honorees

Lifetime Legacy

Richard ‘Dick’ Bento, Retired President of HBA
John* and Donna Stanford, Mainland Advisory Council members

Distinguished Service to God

Theodore ‘Ted’ Goslen*, former Christian Activities Coordinator, Stan Sagert High School Campus
Henry* and Irene Yamashita, founding members of The Aloha Council

Distinguished Service to the Community

Darren ‘87 and Candace ‘88 Wada, Quality Design Build, Inc. and Hoops for Christ

Distinguished Service to HBA

Marsha (Ishida) Hirae ‘72, retired Principal, Stan Sagert High School Campus
Katherine (Ching) Lee ‘69, retired Admissions Director, K-12 

Distinguished Alumnus

Courtney (Glaza) Naso ‘89, Judge with the District Family Court of the First Circuit
Dennis Wong* ‘71, Baskets Beyond Hawaii 

*posthumous award