Award Requirements

We invite the public to nominate outstanding individuals who fit the following criteria for our 2019 Legacy Awards. Nominations will be accepted through August 1, 2018. All nominees must be HBA alumni or current or past members of:

  • The Aloha Council (TAC);
  • HBA Athletic Booster Club;
  • HBA Parent Teacher Fellowship (PTF);
  • HBA Board of Directors;
  • and/or HBA administration, faculty or staff.

A selection committee, consisting of current administration and development staff members, will review the nominations and select honorees for the following awards.

Lifetime Legacy Award

This award is given to an individual who has faithfully served God through extraordinary service to HBA and his/her community. The recipient’s commitment to HBA’s evangelical mission, academic excellence and/or growth as an organization should be apparent. The recipient should have impacted HBA’s community and helped to shape HBA into the school we are today. Members of the Board of Directors, administration, faculty, and staff may be eligible for the Lifetime Legacy Award if they have not been employed by HBA or served on the board for at least five years. Nominees who have received any of the other Legacy Awards are still eligible for the Lifetime Legacy Award.

2014 Recipients: H.P. and Mary McCormick , Col. Stan Sagert, and Joyce Wong

2015 Recipients: Dr. Dan H. Kong and Patricia Simmons

2019 Recipient: Maurine King

Service to God Award

This award is given to a nominee who has served God through full- or part-time ministry in a church, missions organization, or other Christian-based non-profit organization.

2014 Recipients: Mori Hiratani and Carl Kinoshita

2015 Recipient: Itsuko "Sue" Nishikawa

2019 Recipient: Dr. Darold Morgan 

Service to the Community Award

This award is given to a nominee who serves his or her community and may have overcome challenges presented by their environment, community or political climate.

2014 Recipients: Kiyo Itokazu and Stanley Togikawa

2015 Recipients: Andrew and Mary Ann Young

2019 Recipients: Brad and Esther (Quilt) McDaniel '86, and Morris and Lilian Kimoto

Service to HBA Award

This award is given to nominee whose commitment and service to Christ has spiritually impacted HBA’s students and community.

2014 Recipients: Maurine King and Rebecca Ovitt

2015 Recipient: Todd Yokotake '84

2019 Recipients: Suchart Archpru and Sharon Hagio

Alumni Award

This award is given to an alumnus or alumna for distinguished achievement, leadership, service to the community, and/or service to HBA.

2014 Recipients: Rick Tsujimura ’68 and Winona (Au) White ‘83

2015 Recipients: Dennis Sasaki '71 and Susan (Miyamoto) Utsugi '82

2019 Recipient: Kurt Murao '87

Contact Us

Office of Institutional Advancement
420 Wyllie Street
Honolulu, HI 96817
Phone: (808) 533-7094
Fax: (808) 564-0332